Jones Public Library

A Universe of Stories SRP 2019 Calendar
  1. Jones Public Library

    Physical Address
    801 S. Cleveland St
    Dayton, TX 77535

    Phone: 936-258-7060
    Emergency: 911

    Library Hours
    Monday & Wednesday
    9:00 am - 5:30 pm
    Tuesday & Thursday
    9:00 am - 7:30 pm
    9:00 am - 2:00 pm
    10:00 am - 2:00 pm

Jones Public Library is here largely because of the Dayton Chapter of the Lambda Alpha Sigma Club.  They held many fund raisers and organized the need for a public library in this city.  Originally called Dayton Public Library, a one room facility was opened June 14, 1962 in the Civic Center located off of W. Houston Street.  At this time, all books were donated and the library operated by volunteers a few hours on Tuesday and Saturday.  Come May 1967, the library extended its days of operation to a few hours five days a week.

Around the year 1985, after more organizing and fundraising, the library had a new building built on the corner of W. Houston Street and S. Cleveland Street.  After a large contribution to the project, the name of the library was changed to Edmund E. and Nida Smith Jones Library, later shortened to Jones Public Library.

In 2010, the new Dayton Community Center/Jones Library building was built.