home page

Dayton Texas

Mayor & City Council

Regular Meetings

  • 3rd Monday of every month
  • 6 pm
  • City Hall Council Chambers
    801 S. Cleveland St.
    Dayton, TX 77535

Agendas & Minutes
Agendas are available prior to the meetings. Minutes are available following approval. 

View Most Recent Agendas and Minutes

Council Members
The City Council is the City of Dayton's legislative and policy-making body. The six-member council provides community leadership, develops policies and guides the City in delivering services and achieving community goals while encouraging awareness and involvement. Pursuant to its provisions and subject only to the limitations imposed by the state constitution and by the city charter, all powers of the city are vested in the elective council, which enacts local legislation, adopts budgets, determines policies, and appoints the city manager.

The Dayton City Council is comprised of five elected Councilmembers, elected by place; said places being one through five, and one Mayoral position elected "at-large." 
Council Members and the Mayor are each elected to a term of two years, with elections staggered so that no more than three members are up for election in a particular year.
Council Members