home page

Dayton Texas

Meet the Mayor


Mayor Caroline Wadzeck
Email the Mayor

“Becoming Mayor of Dayton is an honor and a privilege. I have pledged to give it my utmost time and energy.  It is an exciting time to live here and be part of planning for the growth we know is coming.  The future of our town looks very bright!” -- Mayor Wadzeck

Caroline Wadzeck was elected Mayor on May 4, 2019. 
Wadzeck's current term will expire in May 2021

Raised in Snyder, Texas (south of Lubbock), Wadzeck received her bachelor's and two master's degrees from Sam Houston State University. A Dayton resident since 1971, Caroline Wadzeck moved here as a first-year teacher. Since then, she's been active in the community, serving in various capacities in organizations and her church. She retired from her 38-year educational career in 2009.

Wadzeck was named Teacher of the Year in both Dayton and Barbers Hill ISDs, and in 2014 was added to Dayton ISD’s Wall of Fame. A long-time member of Delta Kappa Gamma – a professional educators society, she served as president of two chapters, and was also a long-time member of the Texas Library Association, serving on several state committees and named a "Tall Texan" of TLA. As a proponent of education, Wadzeck served eight terms on the Jones Public Library Board of Trustees and is one of the charter members of the Dayton Historical Society.

After retiring, Wadzeck became the curator of the Old School Museum and in 2014 wrote a book entitled "The Streets of Dayton, Texas:  History By the Block." She served as chairwoman of Dayton’s Enhancement Committee upon its organization and serves as a member of the Fire/Police Museum Committee. In 2016, she was named both Dayton’s Volunteer of the Year and Citizen of the Year. She is active in the Lakata Club and in the First United Methodist Church UMW.   

Caroline and husband Larry raised their two sons here - both of whom are graduates of Dayton High School and who have given their parents four wonderful grandchildren.